The Scottish Greens today (22 Feb) confirmed that, for the first time, they will stand candidates in the majority of Scotland's 59 Westminster constituencies - with more than 40 per cent of candidates women.


It follows a surge in membership to over 8,500 and a steady rise in the polls with the recent TNS Scottish survey putting the Greens on 6 per cent, two points ahead of the Libdems. The same poll revealed that almost of a quarter of 18 to 34 year olds intend to vote for the Scottish Greens.

Edinburgh East is the top target constituency with former university rector Peter McColl the party's candidate. Edinburgh has a strong Green activist base, and has had MSPs since 1999 and councillors since 2007.

Patrick Harvie MSP, Co-convener of the Scottish Greens, said:

"Other parties are tying themselves in knots with messages about the sort of tactical voting that represents the politics of old. With our biggest slate of candidates, Scots will have an unrivalled opportunity to vote for the bold and positive politics that only Greens represent.

"Our candidates are already out and about engaging with voters on our ideas for protecting public services, reforming democracy and tackling inequality. With new members joining all the time we are determined to maintain the momentum."

Peter McColl, Scottish Green candidate for Edinburgh East, said:

"Greens are clearly in the running as we head into an election in which everything is up for grabs. We know from speaking to our local communities that voters are looking for candidates they can believe in.

"Our policies on raising the minimum wage to £10 a hour by 2020, renationalising the railways and ending austerity have huge appeal, and are vital to rebalancing our economy and our society."

The full list of Scottish Green party candidates:

Aberdeen South, Dan Yeats

West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine, Richard Openshaw

Central Ayrshire, Veronika Tudhope

Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk, Pauline Stewart

Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale, Jody Jamieson

East Dunbartonshire, Ross Greer

Dundee East, Helen Grayshan

Dundee West, Pauline Hinchion

Angus, David Mumford

East Lothian, Jason Rose

Edinburgh North and Leith, Sarah Beattie-Smith

Edinburgh West, Pat Black

Edinburgh East, Peter McColl

Edinburgh South, Phyl Meyer

Edinburgh South West, Richard Doherty

Dunfermline and west Fife, Lewis Campbell

North East Fife, Andy Collins

Glasgow Central, Cass MacGregor

Glasgow North-west, Moira Crawford

Glasgow North, Martin Bartos

Glasgow South, Alastair Whitelaw

Glasgow North East, Zara Kitson

Glasgow East, Kim Long

Glasgow South West, Sean Templeton

Paisley and Renfrewshire North, Ryan Morrison

Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey, Isla O'Reilly

Ross, Skye and Lochaber, Anne Thomas

Moray, James Mackessack-Leitch

Midlothian, Ian Baxter

North Perthshire, Louise Ramsay

Stirling, Mark Ruskell