Ruskell says Safer Streets are a step nearer with support from 25 MSPs from four parties

Scottish Green MSP Mark Ruskell today (21 Dec) said safer streets are a step nearer after his proposal to lower the default speed limit in built up areas from 30 to 20mph received support from 25 MSPs from four parties. (See list below.)

The deadline for MSPs to formally endorse Mark's proposal has now passed, with supporters including the SNP's Clare Adamson, who convenes Holyrood's cross-party group on Accident Prevention, Labour's David Stewart, winner of the Scottish Road Safety Parliamentarian Award, Labour leader Richard Leonard and the Libdems' Alex Cole-Hamilton.

It means Mark can now draft legislation for scrutiny by Scottish Parliament committees next year.

His proposal, which aims to reduce injuries and deaths and cut air pollution, has the support of numerous organisations including the British Heart Foundation, British Lung Foundation and road safety charity Brake. It would mean councils no longer have to go through a lengthy and costly application process to set up a 20mph zone but could still designate 30mph routes in consultation with communities.

Mid Scotland and Fife MSP Mark Ruskell said:

“With the deadline for MSP signatures now passed, it's great to have four-party support for healthier and safer streets, especially from MSPs with a track record on road safety. The public consultation on my proposed bill had over 2,200 responses and over 80 per cent support, and I look forward to bringing forward legislation in the new year for parliament to scrutinise."

Patrick Harvie, John Finnie, Clare Adamson, Andy Wightman, Ross Greer, Emma Harper, Graeme Dey, Gillian Martin, Angus MacDonald, Alison Johnstone, Stewart Stevenson, David Torrance, Neil Findlay, Gail Ross, Claudia Beamish, Kate Forbes, David Stewart, Ash Denham, Jenny Gilruth, Claire Baker, James Kelly, Bruce Crawford, Jackie Baillie, Richard Leonard, Alex Cole-Hamilton

Q&A on Mark's Safer Streets campaign