Glasgow Greens Select First Group of 2022 Council Candidates

The Glasgow Green Party has selected its first group of candidates for elections to the City Council in 2022.

In total, candidates have been selected for 16 wards. Further selections will take place for the remaining wards closer to the election.

The party is seeking to build on its record seven councillors elected in 2017.

The selected candidates are:

Anderston, City and Yorkhill - Christy Mearns
Calton - Lorraine McLaren
Canal - Seonad Hoy
Cardonald - Ellie Gomersall
Dennistoun - Anthony Carroll
Garscadden / Scotstounhill - Allan Faulds
Govan - Dan Hutchison
Greater Pollok - Chris McFadyen
Hillhead - Martha Wardrop
Langside - Holly Bruce
Linn - Keith Warwick
Maryhill - Amy Irene Marquez
Partick East and Kelvindale - Blair Anderson
Pollokshields - Jon Molyneux
Southside Central - Elaine Gallagher 
Victoria Park - Caroline Thompson-Noble

Current councillors Martin Bartos, Kim Long, Tanya Wisely and Allan Young are standing down at the next election. Kim Long is a Scottish Greens top candidate for election to the Scottish Parliament next year. 

Gordon Menzies, co-convenor of Glasgow Green Party, said:

“We’re pleased to have selected a strong group of candidates covering most of the city’s wards for the 2022 local elections.

“Our current group of councillors have helped put the climate emergency firmly on the city’s agenda, protected local services, and ensured a more democratic and accountable Council. We’re confident of electing an even bigger group in 2022 to build on what they’ve achieved.

“We’re grateful to those councillors who’ve decided to stand down at the next election and know they will keep fighting for the fairer, greener recovery that Glasgow needs.”