To help organise activity at a more local level, the SYG encourages the formation of Local Area Groups. These local groups co-ordinate SYG activity in their area, as well as act as link to the local branches of the SGP and any student groups. A local area group can be formed by five members submitting a request to SYG Council.

The current local area groups and their office bearers are listed on this page. If there isn't a group where you are but would like to help set one up, just get in touch! We'll happily help you find other members to set a group up with.

Glasgow and West Young Greens


The GWYG covers Glasgow, Renfrewshire, East Renfrewshire, Inverclyde, and both East and West Dunbartonshire.

In terms of SGP Branches, GWYG covers Glasgow, Dunbartonshire, Renfrewshire and East Renfrewshire branches.

Office Bearers

Co-Convenors - Andrew Brownlie and Louisa McGuigan
Secretary - Chris MacFadyen
Treasurer - Allan Faulds (temporary)
Ordinary Members - Katrina Gowans, David Hendry, Bella Sumpsion
Glasgow Uni Greens Reps - Various
Strathclyde Greens Rep - Various
Dunbartonshire Rep - TBC, Various
Renfrewshire Rep - TBC, Various
East Renfrewshire Rep - TBC, Various



PDF icon Glasgow Young Greens Constitution.pdf

Edinburgh Young Greens


The EYG covers Edinburgh.



Aberdeen Young Greens


The AYG covers Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire.

Office Bearers

Co-Convenors - Fraser Gow and Ell Merchant

Stirling University Greens

Strathclyde University Greens

Glasgow University Greens

Edinburgh University Greens